Blog comments are written reactions that readers can add to your blog posts. Leaving a comment on a blog post is an easy way for your visitors to communicate with you and other readers.
Comments usually appear on your site right after the blog post content, along with the commenter’s name, the date, and time they left the comment.
A lively comment area can be a great way for you and your readers to build a community around your blog. Visitors can give feedback, ask questions, offer their own point of view on the topic, and more.
The comment system comes with many options that you can configure from the Basic Settings > Discussion page. The first section of these options is for default article settings. These settings apply to all your posts, pages, attachments, and custom post types.
Take a look at all of the options available.
All comments on your website are displayed on the Comments page on the left-hand side menu. By default, it displays all comments.
You can switch the view to see Pending, Approved, Spam, and Trash comments:
Pending comments have been submitted by visitors, but they won’t be visible on your blog posts unless you approve them.
Approved comments have been published and are publicly visible on your blog posts by all your website visitors.
Spam comments have been flagged as possibly unwanted or irrelevant, and aren’t visible to your site visitors.
Trash comments have been marked as unwanted and will be automatically deleted for good after 30 days.
Moving your mouse over to a comment will display the action links for it. You can approve a comment to make it visible to all your site visitors, or unapprove it to put it in pending status again.
You can also reply to comments. By replying to a specific comment, your reply will appear right under that comment. This is called “threaded” or “nested” comments.
You can also choose to edit anyone’s comments on your own site. The Quick Edit option opens a text area so you can edit the comment without reloading the page. Edit, on the other hand, gives you more options to edit the name, user email, and more.
If you see a comment marked as spam that’s actually a real comment, then you can mark it as Not Spam by hovering your mouse over it.
Comments in the trash section are comments that have been deleted by you. Any comment in the trash can be restored by clicking on Restore. Comments in trash remain there for 30 days after this time WordPress deletes them permanently.
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment.
The First (and Only) Website Builder for Doulas, Midwives, and other Birth Pros!
© 2020 Birthing Your Brand. All Rights Reserved.